Sun City Girls Spun

Here’s a re-posting from my popforunpop.wordpress.com site, wherein I am twording and nerding out about The Sun City Girls. Tword along with Patti Walsh….

Pop For the Unpopular

I DJ’d at Harriet Brewing in Mpls tonight and played nothing but the Sun City Girls. I provided the below info about them and thought I’d share here, so, here:

KFAI’s VINYL VOICES, September 30, 2014

Sir Richard Bishop, Charlie Gocher, Alan Bishop Sir Richard Bishop, Charlie Gocher, Alan Bishop

I will delight in playing the legendary Sun City Girls for you tonight. For the uninitiated, it’s often hard to find the words to describe them; I’m not a music writer, per se, just a dj and lifelong fan of SCG, and have had the honor and privilege of getting to know them.

Since I am much better at presenting the music rather than blabbing about them, I thought I’d share this article by the fabulous Mike McGonigal of Yeti Magazine from back in 2002: http://www.thestranger.com/seattle/sun-city-girls/Content?oid=10798 – check it out sometime….

Since that time, SCG’s drummer (well, he was really so much more than that), Charlie Gocher…

View original post 841 more words

Leave a Reply

